South Asians for Human Rights

Promoting Democracy, Upholding Human Rights

The Parliamentary Council which was formed under the 18th Amendment of the Constitution has nominated five names for the establishment of the Human Rights Commission.

The names nominated for the Human Rights Commission are, Commission Chairman Justice Priyantha Perera, Former IGP Anandarajah, Dr. Bernard Soysa, Former Government Analyst Dr. Ananda Mendis and former South East University Chancellor Dr. Jezima Ismail.

The Parliamentary Council consists of the Prime Minster, the Speaker of Parliament, the Opposition leader and Parliamentarians A.H. M Azwar, D. M. Swaminathan who were each nominated by the Opposition leader and the Prime Minster.

The members of the opposition were however not present at this discussion.

Source: The Daily Mirror – 12.02.2011